About Me

I’ve been a stay at home dad for 6 years to my 6-year-old son. When he was born, my wife and I both were working and decided on daycare for him. We chose the best daycare in our area and were still not happy. We saw our son for an hour in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon before he went to bed. It just didn’t seem fair to him and left us feeling like non-existent parents.  My wife and I both held professional jobs, but my wife had a better position and made more money than I did. After looking at expenses vs. income, we decided we could make it on her salary alone while I stayed home.

I was fortunate enough to be raised by a stay at home mom that taught me “household” skills and a dad who taught me “home improvement” skills. So to stay home and raise our son while maintaining the home was not an issue. I do all of the cooking, cleaning, errands and shopping, budgeting, scheduling and appointments, school activities and chaperoning. I jokingly call myself the CDO, Chief Domestic Officer. I see what I am doing as more of a trend whether one or both parents are working. Men are taking more time to help out around the home and put more effort into their family.

Now that my son is in Kindergarten, I have a few additional hours each day to do some marketing consulting on the side as well as write this blog.  My blog’s goal is not to chronicle every step of my day, but to offer truly helpful information to dads or any stay at home parent.

Six years after our decision, we are still doing well and found a rhythm to our lives. Sometimes my wife needs some help from me with her work and sometimes I need help from her with my consulting and blog. We work together to raise our son to be the best he can be and work together so everyone is successful. It is a bit of a shift in traditional thinking that breaks away from “his job” and “her job,” leading to everything is “our job”. Because I get all of the household work and errands done during the week, we have more fun family time on the weekends without having to tote our son around on “boring” errands. It also makes for greater and longer quality time with mommy!

There are a lot of people that ask how I feel about sacrificing my career. A career will always be there, I just may need to start back toward the beginning. My main response to the question is that it is my wife who did the sacrificing by working. Once our child grows up, you can’t go back. So another part of my job is to help give her the most time with him as possible…before he is off to college and starts a family of his own!  If we could, we would both stay at home. But alas, there are bills to pay! We are just fortunate enough to be able to afford to do what we do.

4 thoughts on “About Me

  1. Dear CDO,

    I am a stay-at-home Dad (SAHD). I have a 11 and 12 year old girls. I love them and do enjoy being around them. I take and retrieve them from school, I fix them their meals, I clean the house and do the laundry, and help them with their homework and make sure that they get to their other after school activities like softball or kung fu. My wife works for the county attorneys office as a social worker full time, she has a college degree and makes a decent salary with benefits. We live in a above average community in a home we own. Now, you might consider this to be the typical SAHD situation. Wife makes more money and she has a career. Dad stays home with the kids, but it is not like that. You see, I make more than my wife. I am a retired Federal Agent (DEA), have a college degree, and own my own private investigation business that I work from my home office. I have better benefits through my pension than my wife, so we use my benefits instead of hers. I pretty much pay for everything. I cook, clean the house, buy the groceries, fix things around the house, and pretty much take care of my kids 90% of the time. My wife is out the door at 6am and doesn’t return until 7pm. My question is: Is their any other Dads like me? and if so, where can I find them? Sometimes I feel like I am the only SAHD in this situation.

    • I have been aSAHD since 2011. My situation shares some similarities to yours. We have 2 boys age 9,and 7.
      My wife is a teacher . I manage everything. I am older than my wife.
      Therefore I have more experience in Domestic Domain Management.I love it.

    • I feel very relate to you. I am a businessman and investor. So, after working as a small businessman, now I am only doing a building management and raising my kids and my wife is a college professor (liberal arts), which means I make about same income to my wife. However, I am the one who does most of childcare and people think I am just SAHD, relying on wife’s salary, which is stressful sometimes.

  2. Some what of the same. However we are in the early stages. Wife has a good county job and I have a good job as well in railroad. I work nights and raise my 9 month old daughter during the day. I have been doing this since 3 months when my wife went back to work. I have help the mornings after I work as I get to bed around 4 am and daughter is up at 6ish so that wouldn’t fly! Our mothers watch her till about 10 and then I am with her until 5 when wifey comes home. I wouldn’t trade it for anything, except it would be great if I was retired. There are tough times but I really value the time I have with here and get to enjoy a lot of experiences and watch her develop. Glad I found this blog, was looking for some place to share like experiences and get feedback..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *